Matcha Old-Fashioned Donut – Mister Donut

Right now, Mister Donut is having a collaboration with a fancy green tea maker from Kyoto, Gion Tsujiri (you can read more about it here). I’m actually not the hugest fan of matcha as a flavour. It’s ok but nothing that special. I almost didn’t bother with the campaign because, if I’m going to guiltily indulge in a donut, I’ll go for one I’m more likely to really enjoy.  But I did and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The donut was baked brilliantly, soft yet chewy, and the matcha part was really nice, sweeter than other matcha offerings I’ve tried. If you like matcha because of the bitter aftertaste, you might not enjoy this donut. If you could quite happily live without that bitterness, though, or are just looking for an introduction to the flavor in your baked goods, then I definitely recommend this!

Leave a Reply

