FamilyMart Salt Caramel Eclair


It seems so very terrible to admit it now, but this actually wasn’t my first choice when I went to the desserts fridge at FamilyMart. No, it was my second choice. I saw the words “salt caramel”, that wonderful combination of flavours that Japan embraces too little, and I figured I ought to give it a try.

I have many questions about this eclair. Can I really discern a salt taste? Why does its descriptive diagram make it look like a hot dog? Why is it only 156 yen? What is it doing in a convenience store?

Where has this thing been all my life?

It’s just glorious, an explosion of caramel that oozes everywhere. Caramel sauce, caramel cream, a caramel coating and a nicely textured pastry supporting the whole thing… it just works so, so well. If you are a lover of caramel and can find your way to a Japanese FamilyMart, you must try this, you just must.

As for the salt side, I’m still not sure. It definitely isn’t very strong if it is there, but I’ll have to try a couple more to check, I think. I’ll get back to you.

Leave a Reply

