My Captain Cheese Tokyo Cheese Chocolate Burger

Last week, one of my students surprised me with a box of treats. Inside the box, from My Captain Cheese Tokyo, there were two neat columns of what are called cheese chocolate burgers. They look just like cheese burgers but the “bun” is actually made up of sweet puff pastry and the sauce is actually sweet cream. Lest you start thinking that the square of “cheese” is purely decorative, though, it is allegedly cheddar-cheese flavored chocolate. When you open the packaging, there is a distinctive cheddar scent and while the taste isn’t as strong as cheddar cheese might actually be, it is still decidedly cheesy. They’re… ok, I guess. Cheese isn’t my thing so it feels a bit unfair for me to call. But I didn’t dislike them, anyway, though I’m highly unlikely to purchase them myself. The whole thing is pretty quintessentially “weird Japan” to me, but the website claims they are inspired by the US west coast. It’s a treat to try just to say you did, or if you’re a (really) serious cheese lover.

Leave a comment